Post Appalachian Trail life – Never go home

Once you finish a trip like the Appalachian Trail, you are not going to want to go home, or anywhere that resembles normality.  I feel pity for the people that had to finish on a specific date and go right back to the real world, albeit they must have been doing something important, and so good for them.  I had no inclination to go back home.  In fact, it took me over 1 and a half months to go home.  I spent most of my time up in Maine, relaxing on the coast with my parents and my trail friend Fresh.

IMG_3949 The house in Maine is DOPE IMG_3950 IMG_3952  A little Ocean Kayaking IMG_3954 IMG_3968  Sunsets and dogs IMG_3971 IMG_3972 Lobstah! IMG_3975 IMG_3976 Oyster hunting IMG_3978

I returned once in a while to New Hampshire, where I had started seeing a girl who lived on the beach.  She had a dog and the beach was dog friendly after 7pm and before 9 am.  Swazey loved it!

IMG_3986 Rye beach IMG_3988 IMG_3990Dogs and best friends from HS IMG_4003 IMG_4017DOG BEACH! IMG_4018

A month and half of this, no worries, and you can see why I might not have ever made it back 😉  Now, you might think to yourself, what about MONEY?!  You are right… I only spent 2500 on my 5 month Appalachian Trail trip (not counting gear), and had some cash leftover.  I was usually a guest and was not paying to stay anywhere, just a drifter.  I had lots of friends to see and catch up with, I was in no hurry.  Plus… Look at the above pictures, would you leave?  But I knew, Winter is coming.  So my next post will be about the 6500 mile road trip home.  Until next time!

About shwayze23jbj
Live for the outdoors

Leave a Reply

