Day 5

Miles today – 11.5
43.2 / 2142.1

We woke up in the woodchuck cabin feeling refreshed! Had to say goodbye to rob and machete today, was their last day on the trail. Too bad, they were good guys. Also, today I got my trail name ‘Stretch’. Apparently I’ve been doing some stretches. I brought the woodchuck poem and had to write it at the low gap shelter.

Me and Fresh started at Neels Gap around 9:30 and made pretty good time. We climbed some mountains with some great views. Around 12:30 we ran into our first trail magic. At tesnate gap there was a church group with some booths set up, giving away whoopie pies, hunny buns and oatmeal cream pies. Sat down and ate a ton! Right after there was a 600 ft climb, within a half mile. I immediately regretted that decision!

Made it to camp, ran into some hilarious characters at low gap shelter. We built a fire, and have been talking and joking and I just went to bed around 9. People are still up, but too tired to socialize.

20140314-205249.jpg

20140314-205307.jpg

20140314-205301.jpg

About shwayze23jbj
Live for the outdoors

6 Responses to Day 5

  1. Ashley Daley says:

    Hey Will! Loving your blog:) Hope your knee is getting better! That happens to me a lot when I hike (especially down hill) a knee brace seems to help a lot. We love you, keep up the awesomeness:)

  2. BoobOnARock says:

    I remember that climb after Tesnate Gap! We had been rained on ever since we left Mountain Crossings. So I plodded up that hill with water dripping into my eyes, over my pack, running down my legs…when I got to the top I declared my happiness for the fact that I would never have to do that again!

  3. BoobOnARock says:

    I remember that climb after Tesnate Gap! We had been rained on ever since leaving Mountain Crossings. So I plodded up that hill with water dripping into my eyes, over my pack, running down my legs…when I got to the top I declared my happiness for the fact that I would never have to do that again!

Leave a Reply

