Day 1

.2 miles / 2185.1

So far, I’ve traveled .2 miles on the Appalachian Trail. I decided to start on the approach trail, and hiked 9 miles total, but according to Appalachian mythology, the trail starts on the top of Springer Mountain. I only have 2185.1 miles to go.

Woke up to a beautiful sunrise at 7 something this morning, had breakfast at the hostel and got the shuttle to the approach trail. Those of us that chose to do the approach trail got dropped off at around 11 pm. I signed the registry, thru hiker #368 and my pack weighing 37, and started off. It was 70 degrees out and beautifully sunny! We lucked out. I was walking alone for a while, and ran into a couple of guys. I hiked with them on and off and was up Springer Mountain by 3:15. I spent about 45 minutes on top looking at the views, snacking, writing In my journal and met back up with Red and (I forget). We are caped at springer mountain shelter, around 3700 ft up and it’s supposed to be in the 40s.

Tomorrow is supposed to be another pretty day and I’m pretty beat, so gonna hit the sack soon. Gnight.

The last pic is Red and his dog Rowdy.

20140310-192040.jpg

20140310-192609.jpg

20140310-192632.jpg

About shwayze23jbj
Live for the outdoors

3 Responses to Day 1

  1. Sean Murphy says:

    Sounds awesome and looks great will! I’m sure the first couple miles were a little surreal. Keep up the good work.

  2. Good night. I hope your warm and still alive tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

